ERGP - European Regulators Group for Postal Services

By European Commission decision dated 10 August 2010, published in the Official Journal of the European Union (EU) on the next day, the European Regulators Group for Postal Services (ERGP) was established. Its functions specifically include advising and assisting the EC in consolidation of the internal market for postal services and in consistent application of the applicable regulatory framework in all the EU member states.

This Commission decision culminates a process that began on 22 January 2010 when the EC presented to the head of the then European Regulators Group (ERG) (meanwhile replaced by the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC)) the proposal to create a regulators group for the postal sector and requested a meeting to discuss the matter. That meeting was held in Helsinki last 26 May, together with the Independent Regulators Group (IRG), which also focuses on electronic communications. The Commission’s proposal was also submitted to the Postal Directive Committee at its meeting last 22 March 2010.

ANACOM is co-chair of the Regulatory Framework Working Group.

ANACOM held the chairmanship of the ERGP in 2019 and the vice-chair in 2018, 2020 and 2021.

Further information:

  • ERGP