68th meeting of the Information, Computer and Communications Policy Committee - Paris

The 68th meeting of the Committee on Digital Economy Policy (CDEP) was held last 10-12 December in Paris, where the Portuguese delegation was represented by the Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT) and ANACOM.

Note in particular the holding of a joint session of the CDEP and the working group on Security and Privacy of the Digital Economy (WP SPDE) concerning the OECD membership request of Latvia and Colombia, with presentation of the respective reforms aiming for more conformity of those countries with the OECD’s principles and standards.

Regarding the next ministerial meeting, Mexico as host country reported that for political agenda reasons plans call for the meeting to be held in the last week of June 2016 in Cancun, Mexico.

With respect to participants in the ministerial meeting, the delegates were asked to discuss proposed invitations for the OECD to send to the respective key partners, committee participants and countries that are not members of the organisation. The delegates also studied the topics planned for the ministerial meeting as well as more logistic aspects.

Also, plans call for the publication "Perspectives of the Digital Economy" to be launched in June 2015.

The committee also named the following delegates for the 2015 Bureau of the Information, Computer and Communications Policy (ICCP) Committee:

  • chair: Jørgen Abild Andersen (Denmark);
  • vice-chairs: Daniela Battisti (Italy), Katarina de Brisis (Norway); Roger Higginson (United Kingdom); Sangwon Ko (Korea); Doreen McGirr (United States); Hiroyuki Morikawa (Japan); Chris Padfield (Canada); Frederic Riehl (Switzerland) and Raul Rendón (Mexico).

Lastly, several documents were declassified in the room and by written procedure.

The next meeting of the CDEP will be held in Paris. The provisional dates of the 69th and 70th CDEP meetings are respectively 24-26 June 2015 and 2-4 December 2015.