Telecommunications information search engine opens to the public

/ Updated on 24.01.2003

The Independent Regulators Group Information Sharing (IRGIS) is available from today, June 30, on the Internet. This project creates an information-finding system about the telecommunications market, enabling everyone to find the information generated by 19 independent telecommunications regulators through one web site, found at

The search mechanism will avoid everyone that accesses the site to visit each one of the individual sites. As such, it will allow the gathering of information in a more efficient way. Until September the site will be open to the public in a trial phase mode.

The IRGIS is a system created by the Independent Regulators Group (IRG), a forum that meets regularly to discuss issues of common interest such as interconnection, prices, universal service, and other important issues for the regulation and development of the European telecommunications market. Among the future plans is also the extension of the IRG to the countries now proposing to join the European Union.

The regulatory entities represented in the IRGIS search engine are the following:

Austria Österreichische Gesellschatft für Telekommunikationsregulierung TKC
Belgium Institut Belge des Services Postaux et de Télécommunications BIPT
Denmark Telestyrelsen - National Telecom Agency NTA
Finland Tellehallintokeskus - Telecommunications Administration Centre TAC
France Autorité de Régulation de Télécommunications ART
Germany Regulierungsbehoerde für Telekommunikation und Post REGPT
Greece National Telecommunications Commission EET/NTC
Iceland Post and Telecom Administration PTA
Ireland Office of the Director of Telecommunications Regulation ODTR
Italy Autorità per le Garanzie nelle Comunicazioni AGC
Liechtenstein Office for Communications AK
Luxembourg Institut Luxembourgeois des Télécommunications ILT
Netherlands Onafhankelijke Post en Telecommunicatie Autoriteit OPTA
Norway Norwegian Post and Telecommunications Authority NPT
Portugal Instituto das Comunicações de Portugal ICP
Spain Comisión del Mercado de las Telecomunicaciones CMT
Sweden Post & Telestyrelsen (National Telecoms Agency) PTS
Switzerland Office Fédéral de la Communication OFCOM
United Kingdom Office of Telecomunications OFTEL

Further information: