Broadband competition winners announced

The European Commission has announced the winners of the first edition of the European Broadband Awards:

  • Breitband Nordhessen (Germany) - category on cost savings and co-investment;
  • (Spain) - category on innovative model of financing, business and investment;
  • RAIN II (Lithuania) - category on socio-economic impact and affordability;
  • CAI Harderwijk (Netherlands) - category on open-access and competition;
  • Stokab(Sweden) - category on future proof and quality of service.

The competition saw entries from some 48 projects from 17 Member States; these were evaluated by a panel of five international experts in the fields of broadband, telecommunications, systems science, economics and management.


Further information: