Call for papers

/ Updated on 07.10.2016

The Portuguese Committee of URSI is holding its 10th congress in Lisbon on 18 November 2016, on the theme "Communications in safety and emergency scenarios".

Aiming to encourage young Portuguese authors, ANACOM sponsors the Best Student Paper Award, which will be awarded for the best paper presented by a student who is its first author and also presents it at the Congress.

Interested parties are invited to submit unpublished scientific papers by 20 October 2016 on the following areas:

Main theme

Communications in safety and emergency scenarios

Other scientific topics

1. Electromagnetic metrology
2. Waves and fields: electromagnetic theory and applications
3. Radiocommunications systems and signal processing
4. Electronics and photonics
5. Electromagnetic environment and interference
6. Wave propagation and tele-detection
7. Ionospheric radioelectricity and propagation
8. Waves in the plasma
9. Radioastronomy
10. Electromagnetics in biology and medicine

The selected papers will be presented at the Congress and later posted on ANACOM´s website.

Rules governing submission of papers

Entries must be submitted no later than 20 October 2016, by email sent to, and must contain 2-4 full pages in PDF format, using the IEEE template, in two columns.

The first author will be notified as to the work's acceptance for oral presentation.

The official language of the Congress is Portuguese, although communications are also accepted in English and Spanish.

ANACOM-URSI Portugal Prize

The Portuguese Committee of URSI, with sponsorship granted by ANACOM, will also award the "ANACOM-URSI Portugal Prize" to the best research work in the area of Radioelectricity. The purpose of this award is to stimulate creativity and rigour in scientific research work in Portugal. This award will be made upon closure of the Congress.

Entries must be submitted no later than 20 October 2016, by email sent to The Regulation of the 2016 ANACOM Prize is available for consultation in the URSI Committee of the Portuguese area of ANACOM's website.

Scientific Committee

Chairs of the Scientific Committees of the Portuguese Committee of URSI:

  • Prof. Nuno Borges Carvalho
  • Prof. Custódio Peixeiro
  • Prof. António Rodrigues
  • Prof. Leonel Sousa
  • Dr. José Pedro Borrego
  • Prof. José Carlos da Silva Neves
  • Cte. Eduardo Ludovico Bolas
  • Prof.ª Maria Emília Manso
  • Prof. Luís Cupido
  • Prof. Pais Clemente


Submission of works: 20.10.2016

Notification of authors: 28.10.2016

Congress proceedings: 18.11.2016