ANACOM Conference - Universal Service

Autoridade Nacional de Comunicações (ANACOM) is hosting an International Conference on the subject of ''Universal Service'', to be held on 18th in the large auditorium of Culturegest in Lisbon.

The opening session of the conference will be attended by ANACOM's Chairman, José Amado da Silva, and the Minister of Public Works, Transport and Communications, Mário Lino.

The morning session will comprise of two panels, entitled, ''The Universal Service of electronic communications in competition'' and ''Universal Service and next generation networks''.  The first will be moderated by Alexandra Machado of Jornal de Negócios and will be attended by Philippe Defraigne, Director of Cullen International, as the main speaker; Xavier Merlin, Sub-Director of the Institutional Relations Unit of the French Economics Ministry; and Ronaldo Mota Sardenberg, Chairman of ANATEL.  The main speaker of the second panel, which will be moderated by Fátima Caçador of Casa dos Bits, will be Bernardo Hernández Bataller, Chair of the Section for the Single Market, Production and Consumption of the European Economic and Social Committee. Bernardo Herman, Director of Regulatory Affairs at ETNO and Luís Filipe Reis, chair of APRITEL will be taking part in the panel.

The afternoon session will also be divided into two panels.  The first, focusing on the issue ''The Universal Postal Service in a liberalized environment'', will be moderated by Pedro Marques Pereira, Sub-director of Diário Económico with Michael Crew, Director at Rutgers University as main speaker and will be attended by Joerg Reinbothe, head of the Postal Services Unit of the Internal Market and Services Directorate-General of the European Commission (EC); and Serrana Bassini Casco, General Secretary of UPAEP. The final panel will address the theme of ''The Universal Service and user protection and guarantee'' and will be moderated by Paulo Ferreira of Jornal Público.  It will be attended by Paraskevi Michou, head of the Unit for the Implementation of the Regulatory Framework of the EC's Directorate-General for Information Society and Media.  Alexandrina Hirtan, Vice-chair of the National Regulatory Authority for Communication and Information Technology; Domingos Soares Farinho, Director of GRAL; and Luís Silveira Rodrigues, a member of the management of DECO will round off the list of speakers.

The closing session of the conference will be led by ANACOM's Chairman, José Amado da Silva, and by the moderators of the thematic sessions.

Participation in the Conference is free and open to all, while being subject to prior registration and the availability of places in the auditorium. Participants should register by 16 September, by completing the form available on this website.

More info: