Network of postal establishments - 1st half of 2008

ANACOM has released the most recent report on the network of postal establishments of CTT - Correios de Portugal, S.A. (CTT), concessionaire company of the universal postal service.

The report shows that at the end of the first half of 2008 there were 2,852 postal establishments in operation, 1 fewer than at the end of 2007. Of these postal establishments, 907 were permanent post offices, 12 were mobile post offices and 1,933 were postal service offices.

The report shows that there was at least one post office located within each municipality, while in 291 municipalities (94.5 per cent of the total) there were two or more postal establishment, a terms which encompasses not just post offices but also postal services offices. All post offices provide the full range of concession services while 45.5 per cent of postal service offices do not offer parcel services.

In comparison with other Member States of the European Union (EU), and according to data provided by the Universal Postal Union (UPU) for 2006, the situation in Portugal compares favourably to the EU average, both in terms of coverage and in terms of density of permanent postal establishments.

Under the terms Concession of the Universal Postal Service, during the first half of 2008, ANACOM received 16 notifications from CTT, as follows: 8 in respect of the closure of post offices and their replacement by postal service offices, 1 in respect of the opening of a postal service offices, 2 in respect of reductions in post office working hours; and 5 in respect of other alterations to post office working hours (which do not imply a reduction in the daily timetable).

More info: