Malta holds Presidency of the European Union for the first half of 2017

Malta holds the presidency of the European Union (EU) Council of Ministers from 1 January to 30 June 2017, thus completing the presidential triumvirate comprising The Netherlands (1st half of 2016) and Slovakia (2nd half of 2016)

The main priorities announced for the next six months are:

  • migration;
  • single market;
  • security;
  • social inclusion;
  • Europe’s neighbourhood;
  • maritime.

Further information: