Decree-Law no. 169-A/2005, of 3 of October

Presidência do Conselho de Ministros (Presidency of the Council of Ministers)


The extension of the audio-visual contribution to the total provision of electricity was provided for in paragraph 2 of article 49 of Law no. 55-B/2004, of 30 December, which approved the State Budget for 2005, such provision granting the Government the necessary legislative authorization for the implementation thereof. However, the resignation of the Government in office would lead to the expiry of the mentioned authorization. Having due regard to the restructure process of the State’s business sector in the media area and to the need to contribute towards the financial sustainability of the radio and television public service, the Assembly of the Republic, pursuant to article 25 of Law no. 39-A/2005, of 29 July, has decided to renew the legislative authorization, which must now be implemented.

The High Authority for the Mass Media was heard.


Under the legislative authorization provided for in article 25 of Law no. 39-A/2005, of 29 July, and pursuant to point b) of paragraph 1 of article 198 of the Constitution, the Government hereby decrees the following:

Sole article
Amendment to Law no. 30/2003, of 22 August

Articles 3 and 5 of Law no. 30/2003, of 22 August are hereby amended to read as follows:

«Article 3

1 - ...

2 - The audio-visual contribution falls on the provision of electricity, and shall be due on a monthly basis by the consumers thereof.

Article 5

1 - ...

2 - ...

3 - ...

4 - ...

5 - The electricity distribution companies may not issue bills regarding electricity provision nor accept the respective payment from customers before the audio-visual contribution amount is added to the energy price.»

Checked and approved in the Council of Ministers of 1 September 2005. - José Sócrates Carvalho Pinto de Sousa - Fernando Teixeira dos Santos - Manuel António Gomes de Almeida de Pinho - Augusto Ernesto Santos Silva.

Promulgated on 26 September 2005.

Let it be published.

The President of the Republic, JORGE SAMPAIO.

Counter-signed on 29 September 2005.

The Prime-Minister, José Sócrates Carvalho Pinto de Sousa.